Moonta — Assessment £11,522.
Mayor, L. L. Furner, Esq.
Councillors — Rossiter, Lander, Jackson, Axford, Rowe, Goldsworthy, Chappell, and Whitford
Auditors — Jewell and Moody
Town Surveyer — Thomas Jones, senr.
Town Clerk — Crutchett

Kadina — Assessment £10,973.
Mayor, John Gaskell, Esq.
Councillors — Brown, Haselgrove, Restall, Parnell, Julian, Bleakley, Cundy, and Scott
Auditors — Lewis and Furniss
Town Surveyor — Dixon
Town Clerk — Julius Ey

Wallaroo — Assessment £9,070.
Mayor, Thos Davies
Councillors — Thorn, Walkley, Heath, and Phillips
Auditors — Bath and Pellew
Town Surveyor — Thomas Dixon
Town Clerk — Thompson

District Councils.

Green’s Plains — Land cultivated 7,380 acres; assessment £4,750
Chairman — William Wyatt
Councillors — Thomas, Barton, Renfrey, and Tait
Auditors — Hosking and Skipworth
Clerk — Opie

Chairman, Thomas Corlett
Councillors — Kenney, Gregor, Wicks, and Goldsmith
Auditors — Woods and Smith, jun.
Clerk — George Heaney


Moonta Institute
President—Thomas Jones;
Vice-President — John Assheton
Hon. Secretary — Otto W Schroder
Committee — Messrs. Beer, Brown, and Brookman
Librarian — E F Gough.
Open daily, and for the exchange of books from seven until 10 p.m.

Wallaroo Institute
President — W. H. Sholl, Esq., J.P.
Vice-President — James Harvey, Esq., J.P.
Commitee — Messrs. T. Davies, J.P., J. Hay, J.P., F. Jackson, Thos. Godfrey, J. Hawkes, J. Cheek, J. Beaton, F. D Woodforde, Tom Ward, and William Stimson
Auditors — Messrs R. Willshire and E. Elisfielder
Librarian — W. Langdon
Secretary — T. C. Cloud

Kadina Institute ——

Banking Companies.

Bank of South Australia
Moonta — Manager, Mr Corpe
Kadino — Acting Manager, Mr. Lewis

National Bank
Moonta — Manager, Mr. McClenaghan
Kadina — Manager, Mr. Furniss
Wallaroo — Manager, Mr Hughes

E. S. & A. Bank
Moonta — Manager, Mr Alexander

Mining Companies

Devon Consols
Captain, Northey
Secretary, Whitington

East Moonta
Captain, ———
Secretary, Crutchett

Great Britain
Captain, ———
Secretary, Driffield

Captain, Warren
Secretary Scott

Captain, ———
Secretary, Coates

Captain, ———
Secretary, Ware

Captain, ———
Secretary, Scott

Manager, Hancock
Secretary, McCoull

Captain, Collins
Secretary, Whitington

North-East Doora
Captain, ———
Secretary, Ey

North-East Matta
Captain, ———
Secretary, Carvosso

New Mid-Moonta
Captain, Lean
Secretary, Scott

North Yelta
Captain, Cowling
Secretary, Coates

Captain, Warren
Secretary, Scott

Captain, Hancock
Secretary, A. Y. Harvey

South Doora
Captain, ———
Secretary, Whitington

South Hamley
Captain, ———
Secretary, Ware

South Moonta
Captain ———
Secretary ———

Superintendent, Mr. S. Higgs
Secretary, Mair

Wheal Devon
Captain, ———
Secretary, Carvosso

Wheal Geyder
Captain, ———
Secretary, Whitington

Wheal James
Captain, Warren
Secretary, Scott

Captain, Cowling
Secretary, Scott


Duke of Edinburgh, No 1252, EC.
WM, C. Bennett
Secretary, S. H. Rowe
Meets at the Masonic Hall, Moonta, monthly

Union Lodge, No — E.C.
WM, D. Curtis;
Secretary ——.
Meets at the White Lion, Kadina, monthly.


Daly — Globe Hotel, Ryan-Street, Moonta; every Wednesday
President J. Letcher
N.G. — S. Gilbert
V.G. — J. Pearce
E.S. — E. M. Pearce
A.S. — T. R. Davey
Treas. and Sick Pay-Officer, W. S. London.

Yelta — Wesleyan Schoolroom, Yelta; every alternate Tuesday
President, T. Martin
N.G. — W. Sandercock
V.G. — J. Halse ;
E.S. — F. Donnelly
A. S. and Treas — T. Curnow.

List of Tents, Time and Place of Meeting

Hope of Kadina — Gaskell’s Schoolroom, Kadina; alternate Tuesday, from June 20, at seven
CR, Blight. Wallaroo Mines
DR, Serymgour, Kadina
Sec., Joseph Tregloan, Wallaroo Mines.

Life of Moonta — Bible Christian Schoolroom, Moonta; alternate Wednesday, from June 21, at half past seven
CR, D. Archibald
DR, A. C. Rodda
Secretary, James Sisely

William Dale — Wesleyan Schoolroom, East Moonta: every alternate Saturday, from June 10, at seven
CR, Nicholls
DR, Phillips
Secretary, Joseph Goldsworthy
Moonta Mines

Working Man’s Hope — Primitive Methodist Chapel, Wallaroo; alternate Thursday, from June 22, at half-past seven
CR, Lockwood
DR, Slight
Sec., Alexander Young
Wallaroo Bay

Troubridge Light — Bro. Caldwell’s, Diamond Lake, Troubridge; every fourth Friday from June 23, at half-past seven
CR, Turner
DR, Diprose, Junr.
Sec., Walter Davey

Fidelity — Foresters’ Hall, Port Wakefield; alternate Friday, from June 9, at halfpast seven
CR, Alexander
DR, Tilley;
Secretary, William F. Boehm
Port Wakefield

Female Branches

Pride of Moonta, No. 6 — Bro. J. Lander’s Moonta; every alternate Monday, at seven,
SM, Mrs. Emerson
Secretary, John Lander

Star of Peace, No. 8 — Mr. Bayley’s Schoolroom, Kadina; monthly from Tuesday, May 30, at seven
SM, Sister Oatey
Sec., J. Tregloan

Princess Alice, No. 7 — Bro Wiltshire’s Schoolroom, Wallaroe; every alternate Monday, at seven
SM, Amanda Wiltshire
Sec., Bro. Wiltshire

Juvenile Branches

Hope of Moonta; Prince of Wales, East Moonta; Rising Star of Kadina; Port Wallaroo


AD, Mr Barker
Secretary, W T Field
Meets every alternate Thursday, at eight pm.


Yorke Peninsula Directory (1876, July 11). Yorke’s Peninsula Advertiser and Miners’ and Farmers’ Journal (SA : 1875 – 1878), p. 2 (SUPPLEMENT TO THE Yorke’s Peninsula Advertiser and Miners’ news).